You are here Home >> Eating Healthy >> Special Diets >> Gluten Free Diets
Gluten Free Diet

Gluten is the generic name for certain types of proteins contained in the common cereal grains wheat, barley, rye and their derivatives that must be eliminated. The good news is that all fresh fruits, vegetables, beef, chicken, fish, lamb, pork and dairy products are naturally gluten-free.

A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein complex found in wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye and triticale. Corn and ricealso contain gluten, but are considered gluten-free, as the gluten in these species do not cause celiac disease. A gluten-free diet is the only medically accepted treatment for celiac disease, the related condition dermatitis herpetiformis, and wheat allergy, but not gluten allergy.

ALLOWED Grains/Flours
Rice, corn (maize), soy, potato, tapioca, beans, garfava, sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, arrowroot, amaranth, teff, Montina®, flax, and nut flours

Oats
Research indicates that pure, uncontaminated oats consumed in moderation (up to 1/2 cup dry oats daily) are tolerated by most celiacs. Gluten-free oats are currently available in the United States. Consult your physician or dietician before including oats in your diet and for regular monitoring.

Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars are gluten-free. Distilled products do not contain any harmful gluten peptides. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. This process leaves the resultant liquid gluten-free.

Wines and hard liquor/distilled beverages are gluten-free. Beers, ales, lagers and malt vinegars that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore, are not gluten-free.

NOT ALLOWED IN ANY FORM
Wheat (einkorn, durum, faro, graham, kamut, semolina, spelt), rye, barley and triticale

Foods to avoid on a gluten-free diet

A person with coeliac disease should avoid all foods that contain gluten. It is important to read the labels of all packaged or prepared foods. Some foods that may contain gluten include:

• Cereal and baking products – wheat, wheaten cornflour, semolina, couscous, wheat bran, barley, oats, porridge, breakfast cereals containing wheat, rye, oats or barley, corn or rice cereals containing malt extract from barley, some icing sugar mixtures and some baking powders
• Pasta and noodles – spaghetti, pasta, lasagne, gnocchi, hokkien noodles, soba noodles and two-minute noodles
• Bread, cakes and biscuits – all bread, cakes and biscuits prepared with flours from a gluten source
• Meat products – any products prepared with breadcrumbs or batter, sausages and other processed meats or smallgoods (unless labelled gluten free), thickened soups, meat pies and frozen meals
• Dairy products – malted milk, ice cream in a cone and some soymilks
• Fruits and vegetables –textured vegetable protein (found in some vegetarian products) and fruit-pie filling
• Condiments – malt vinegar, some mustards, relishes, pickles, salad dressings, sauces, gravy and yeast extract from barley
• Snacks – liquorice, some lollies and chocolates, packet savoury snacks and some flavoured potato and corn chips
• Drinks – cereal coffee substitutes and some milk drink powders



*Powered by ORGANIC FARMERS.
Farm2Kitchen™ © 2016. Lovingly Made in